Pittsburgh Uninsured Motorist Accident Attorney

Although carrying auto insurance is mandatory under Pennsylvania law, the risk of encountering an uninsured or underinsured driver on the roads of Pittsburgh remains quite high.

But just because the other driver has no insurance coverage does not necessarily mean that you will have to pay for your expenses and damages after an accident involving an uninsured motorist out of your own pocket. We invited our Pittsburgh uninsured motorist accident attorney from Shenderovich, Shenderovich & Fishman to explain your legal options after a car crash involving an uninsured driver.

Auto insurance requirements in Pennsylvania

When you get into a car accident with an uninsured driver, there are a few things you can do to seek compensation, and suing the uninsured motorist at fault for the crash is one of them. What source of coverage will apply in your case depends on your particular situation, which is why it is advised to consult with an experienced uninsured driver accident attorney in Pittsburgh or elsewhere in Pennsylvania before accepting any settlement from insurance companies.

In Pennsylvania, all motorists who own an automobile are legally required to carry auto insurance coverage. In fact, Pennsylvania law also imposes the mandatory minimum requirements for auto insurance:

  • At least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability insurance
  • At least $5,000 in property damage liability insurance and
  • At least $5,000 in first-party benefits medical payments

Additional insurance coverage in uninsured motorist accident

Some motorists in Pennsylvania also choose to purchase additional coverage to be covered in the event of a car crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver or hit and run accident, in which the other driver cannot be identified.

Our Pittsburgh uninsured motorist accident lawyer explains that any additional insurance coverage will be accessible when (a) you run out of your first-party insurance benefits to pay for your injury and damages, and (b) the other driver has no insurance coverage or his/her insurance coverage is not enough to cover the car accident.

Pennsylvania law does not require motorists to purchase uninsured or underinsured insurance coverage in addition to the mandatory standard auto insurance coverage. In our state, the minimum option for uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage is equivalent to the minimum coverage for mandatory auto insurance coverage ($15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident).

Suing the uninsured motorist

However, if you were injured in a car crash involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist and either have no additional insurance coverage or that coverage is not enough to cover all your expenses, suing the at-fault driver may be the only option to seek the maximum compensation.

Our uninsured driver accident lawyers at Shenderovich, Shenderovich & Fishman warn that you may run into several problems associated with recovering damages after a car crash involving an uninsured motorist:

  • Pennsylvania law has a two-year statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit, which means you will have to sue the uninsured motorist within two years of the date of the accident
  • Suing the uninsured motorist may be a waste of your time and money because if the driver could not afford auto insurance, he or she will most likely not have enough financial resources to cover the accident and
  • Insurance companies in Pennsylvania are notorious for trying to settle uninsured motorist claims for as low as they can go (do not accept a low-ball settlement offer from insurance companies unless you have talked to a lawyer first)

Schedule a free consultation with our attorneys at Shenderovich, Shenderovich & Fishman by calling at 888-98-TWINS(89467).